Signage : instructions

It is fair to say that signage is the business district’s Achilles heel. It wasn’t generally considered to be an efficient system for finding one’s way around this original and complex site. Defacto has therefore introduced a new system that better meets requirements in terms of clarification and simplification. 
 

A WORD FROM THE PRESIDENT

 

"Achieving a high level of service for employees and residents is a necessity for an international business district. It’s a priority for Defacto. One of our high-priority actions is the implementation of a new - eagerly awaited - signage system. As an ideas lab, a hub of creativity and innovation and a cultural cooking pot, La Défense must find a new burst of youthfulness and enthusiasm. Signage will be the first step."
 
 
Patrick Devedjian 

Chairman of Defacto
and the department council of the Hauts-de-Seine 
 
 
 

New signs, new signage system

Responsibility, ambition, commitment: three words to share today with Defacto to discuss the introduction of the new signage system.
 
 
 
 

Because navigating La Défense is currently quite difficult

 
We have tackled this change in a spirit of responsibility. Being the first business district in Europe brings with it a certain level of expectation on the part of various stakeholders. At the forefront of which are our occasional visitors. To meet these expectations, we will begin by addressing the issue of mobility and ease of movement and travel for all across the site.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Because a signage system is more than just icons and numbers

 
We’re also addressing this with the ambition it requires. Being exemplary, in practical terms, means essentially one thing: making things simple. Making sure for example that we avoid having district 12 at the opposite end of district 11. It also means: being efficient. Listening to you all – that was the aim of the large public consultation – and taking action, committing to a strategy…
 
 
 
 
 
 

Because the change in signage involves a transition phase and a complex building site

 
Three ‘stages’ were introduced: first, the pedestrian signage system (put in place in the Autumn of 2010), the street plaques (January-March 2011) and finally the road signs (second trimester of 2011). Listening to you, understanding the improvements to carry out: your input is necessary so this signage system isn’t just La Défense’s signage system, it’s also your signage system.
 
 
 
 
 
If however you were to encounter any temporary difficulties in navigating the site, don’t hesitate to give us ...a sign at the following address : communication@defacto.fr

Signalétique : mode d'emploi



Véritable talon d’Achille du premier quartier d’affaires européen, la signalétique de La Défense, de l’avis général, ne permettait pas de se repérer de manière efficace dans ce site original et complexe. Paris La Défense a donc mis en place un nouveau système répondant à ces attentes de clarification et de simplification

LE MOT DU PRÉSIDENT

 

"Atteindre un haut niveau de services aux salariés et aux habitants, est une nécessité pour un quartier d’affaires international. C’est une priorité pour Paris La Défense. Une des actions prioritaires est la mise en place de la nouvelle signalétique, tant attendue. Laboratoire d’idées, terre d’innovation et de créativité, chaudron culturel, La Défense doit trouver une nouvelle jeunesse et une nouvelle ardeur. La signalétique en est la première étape."
Patrick Devedjian 
Président du Conseil d’Administration de Paris La Défense 
et du Département des Hauts-de-Seine
 
 
 
 

De nouveaux signes, une nouvelle signalétique

 
Responsabilité, ambition, engagements : trois mots à partager aujourd’hui avec Paris La Défense pour évoquer le déploiement de la nouvelle signalétique.
 
 
 
 

Parce que se repérer à La Défense est aujourd’hui très difficile

 
Nous avons abordé le changement dans un esprit de responsabilité. Être le premier quartier d’affaires européen crée des exigences vis-à-vis de l’ensemble des parties prenantes. Au premier rang desquelles les utilisateurs habituels, entreprises et habitants mais aussi les touristes et les visiteurs occasionnels. Nous allons commencer à y répondre sur le plan de la mobilité, du confort de déplacement de chacun.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Parce que la signalétique, c’est plus que des pictogrammes ou des numéros

 
Nous avons aussi placé ce chantier sous le signe de l’ambition. Être exemplaire, concrètement, cela veut surtout dire : faire simple. Cela veut aussi dire : être efficace. Vous écouter – c’était l’objet de la large concertation publique – et passer à l’acte, s’engager…
 
 
 
 
 
 

Parce que le changement de signalétique engendre une phase de transition et un chantier complexe

 
Trois “étapes“ ont été réalisées : la signalétique piétonne d’abord (mise en place à l'automne 2010), les plaques de rue (janvier-mars 2011) et enfin la signalétique routière (second trimestre 2011). Être à votre écoute, connaître les points d'amélioration à apporter : votre retour est nécessaire pour que cette signalétique soit plus que la signalétique de La Défense, mais bien votre signalétique.
 
 
 
 
 
Si toutefois vous rencontriez des difficultés temporaires pour vous repérer, n’hésitez pas à nous faire… signe à l’adresse suivante : communication@parisladefense.com